The City of Las Cruces was incorporated in 1946 and chartered in 1985. The City utilizes a council/manager form of government, consisting of six elected council members (staggered four-year terms) and an elected mayor (four-year term). Elections are held bi-annually. The City Manager is appointed by the City Council, and is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the City and the management of all City employees.