Fair Housing

Fair Housing—It’s not an Option, It’s the Law!

The City of Las Cruces is actively engaged in making the public aware of their fair housing rights. Our goals are to provide our citizens an understanding what “fair housing” is, your protected rights under the law, types of discriminatory actions, and available remedies.

The federal Fair Housing Act gives you the right to rent or buy a home without discrimination. Fair housing laws identify certain groups of people, called "protected classes," for this protection. Protected classes include: race, color, national origin, religion, gender, familial status, and disability. The New Mexico Human Rights Act also prohibits discrimination based upon ancestry, sexual orientation, spousal affiliation and gender identity. The Fair Housing Act covers most housing, with certain exceptions, and makes it illegal to discriminate against any person in the sale, rental and financing of housing.

Prohibited actions include:

  • Refuse to sell or rent.
  • DENY housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental.
  • Offer different, terms, conditions, or privileges.
  • Deny access to or membership in a facility or service.
  • For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent (blockbusting).
  • Refuse to make or purchase a loan.
  • Refuse to provide information regarding loans or other financial assistance.
  • Set different terms or conditions on a loan.
  • Discriminate in selling, rental, or leasing; Brokering; Appraising of real property; or Insurance.

Please go to the Resources page for more information on Fair Housing rights and about how to file a Fair Housing complaint with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Fair Housing image English

Fair Housing image Spanish

U.S. Dept. of HUD Fair Housing Logo